Getting ready for a new adventure!

Hi, Neighbor!

As June speeds along, I find myself hurrying to catch up with a month that is speeding by. A lot is happening in my own life, and when that happens, writing is shafted…literally. Still, I’m doing my best to stay at least as close to the track as possible, so that when balance is restored, I can jump back in with both feet.

Chuckles … talk about mixed metaphors!

So today I’ll share a review I did of a book I recently received an ARC copy of but before I do, here’s my big news. the first book in my first-ever M/M romance series is currently in pre-order. The series is called No Strings Attached, and the first book, coming out on September 30, is titled Orchestrated Love. It’s a second-chance romance between a somewhat older professor and his former student. Click on the title above to get your copy and learn more of their story, and let me know in the comments what you think of the cover.

And now for the review. The title of the book is Embrace Me by Beck Grey. Click on it to find it on Amazon and read the free excerpt to see if you’d like to give it a try. I gave this 3 stars.

Tadhg Byrne is Deaf and Quinn MacDougall is Hearing. They fall in love and must find their way past the barriers that Tadhg’s deafness presents not only in their personal and professional relationship, but also in Tadhg’s relationship with Quinn’s family. I understand the struggle to feel like a part of something when your inability keeps you apart FROM it, but Tadhg’s expectations of Quinn and his family seemed a bit excessive to me. Perhaps that’s my hearing self being selfish, but it seems that almost all the concessions and compromises in their relationship are made by Quinn, and the author makes it clear that this is how it ought to be, that anything less is unacceptable and selfish on the part of hearing people. I disagree, but I’m one person, privileged by my ability to hear. And although it’s a kind gesture on the author’s part, I didn’t actually need to know how to sign in order to enjoy the story. So the frequent stops to explain what sign Tadhg or Quinn or someone else was making and what it meant were frustrating for me. The relationship between them is sweet, even if sometimes they come off as very young.

Well, I’m off for now. Happy Father’s Day to all you guys out there doing the work, whether they’re your blood or not! Enjoy the day!

About AJ la Jamaiquina

I'm Jamaican...obviously! :) All the writing posted here is my own unless otherwise noted, and as such are copyrighted to me only. "Be brave enough to live life creatively. The creative is the place where no one else has ever been. You have to leave the city of your comfort and go into the wilderness of your intuition. You can't get there by bus, only by hard work and risk and by not quite knowing what you are doing. What you'll discover will be wonderful. What you'll discover will be yourself." ~ ALAN ALDA
This entry was posted in blind book date, m/m, promotion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment